G.F. Ranch

The beginning of His vision

Cravings

on September 12, 2016

Let me start off with….NO I am not pregnant.  But a few nights ago I got hit with a sweet tooth and a craving for a candy bar.  As I’ve said before, it’s 13 miles to the ‘corner store’ plus it was about 8:30 at night and they close at 8.  I tried to focus on the TV show we were watching but mentally I was trying to figure out what I might have in the cabinets that would satisfy my craving.  Ohhhhh, I had an idea.  I was pretty sure I had the fixin’s to make Almond Joys.  Everything except the almonds, so I made Mounds.

This is where I would normally insert a photo of what ended up being extra-large Mounds, except, honestly, they looked like bug turds. But they tasted wonderful!!! I will share the how I made them with you though.  Because seriously that is more important than the picture!

2 1/2 C unsweetened flaked coconut (I just used the whole bag)

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract (I just pour, but it should be somewhere around 1T)

pinch of salt

20 oz (about 1 1/2 bags) of semi-sweet or dark chocolate.  Use the good stuff!

7 ounces sweetened condensed milk (I had a 14 oz can and used 2/3 of it.  Might be because I used a whole bag of coconut. But felt that’s what I needed to hold it together)

In a bowl, stir together sweetened condensed milk, powdered sugar, salt and vanilla extract. Stir in the unsweetened coconut. The mixture will be thick. Placing the mixture in the freezer for 30 minutes makes it easier to work with.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and remove the coconut mixture from the freezer. With clean hands shape one tablespoon of coconut (or more if you want to make bigger ones) into a small log about 2 inches long and 3/4 inch thick. Press the logs together tightly so they stay together when dipped. Place the logs on the lined baking sheet and continue until the coconut mixture is gone. Your hands will get VERY sticky, but it’s so worth it.  Just rinse them off as needed. I put the baking sheet back in the freezer while I melted the chocolate. Ha!  I forgot to put chocolate in the ingredients; I need to correct that!

Place two inches of water in a  medium pot and bring the water to a simmer. Place chocolate chips in a heat proof bowl and place the bowl over the simmering water. Stir the chocolate as it melts and turn the burner off once the chocolate has melted but keep the bowl over the hot water.

I had to mix and match a few things of chocolate and didn’t have much of the good stuff.  What I really was hoping I had was dark chocolate, but sadly did not.  But it is on my shopping list.

Bring the coconut logs from the freezer. Place a coconut log on a fork and lower the fork into the chocolate to coat. Lift fork and gently shake to release some of the chocolate. Scrape the bottom of the fork along the side of the bowl and place on the lined baking sheet. A toothpick may be handy to help get the candy off the fork. Repeat with all logs. If the chocolate thickens, just turn on the burner on and heat slightly.

My chocolate mixture was thick to begin with.  I even added just a small amount of coconut oil to it in hopes it would thin a little.  I also knew my family would not mind a thick coat of chocolate.

I put the baking sheet back into the freezer for about 10-15 minutes.  It’s as long as I could wait.  Note to self…do not give an extra-large Mounds bar to your 12-year-old at 9:15 pm! After leaving the rest in the freezer for about another 20 minutes, I transferred to a pint size bag and put back in the freezer.  I like my candy bars frozen (Hubby, not so much), but if you don’t I would suggest maybe using waxed or parchment paper to separate the layers and store in the fridge.

I will definitely be making these again, in about 5 weeks.  Hubby is getting ready to go back to the rig and I really need him home to share the calories with me!

Leave a Reply

