G.F. Ranch

The beginning of His vision

Sunday Notes

on September 4, 2016

Ever go through the week feeling as there are things God is saying to you or putting on your heart?  Then you go to church and it’s in the sermon?  That is me and that is now.  Let me start by saying I have had many highs & lows as a Christian.  Times I feel so in tune with the Lord and other times I’m sure I am running from and hiding from Him.  Thankfully I am coming out of one of those lows. I wish I could just download directly from my brain as it always sounds better in my head when I first think it.

I find myself seeking God more.  Seeking His opinions and thoughts on things in my life.  It is so simple….seek Him and you WILL find Him!

11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. 12 Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. 13 And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you, says the Lord, and I will bring you back from your captivity; I will gather you from all the nations and from all the places where I have driven you, says the Lord, and I will bring you to the place from which I cause you to be carried away captive.                                  Jeremiah 29:11-14

Abba calls for us to share our testimonies.  I am sure there are many reasons and I feel I understand some of them.  Not that I don’t get caught up at times ‘trying’ to wrap my head around God and understand Him and the ways He thinks, I remind myself I can’t.  He is infinite….I am/we are finite. I don’t want to serve a god that I can wrap my brain around because that would make him less than me.  Instead, I serve a God who is greater than anything.

The past few weeks our pastors have been doing a sermon series on Colossians called rooted.  I’m not going to repeat the sermons, but feel free to watch them HERE. Today was the 4th, and I believe final.  I just feel led to share some personal thoughts I had from the sermon.

In Chapter 3 Paul speaks of things to ‘put off’ in verse 5 and in verse 12 of things to ‘put on’.  Pastor C said that whether we like it or not, fair or not, we are judged my the clothes we wear.  That often our clothes = our identity.  This can be a touchy subject for me.  I have never had much of any ‘fashion sense’ and honestly, I’m too cheap to invest in good clothes. Occasionally I will get a good sale on a piece of clothing, like the shirt I wore to church today.  However, the jeans I wore are pretty much a pair of work jeans so it takes away from the niceness of the shirt.  Part of me doesn’t really care and part of me does and is embarrassed.  But I wrote in my notes ‘I put tattered clothes on daily’.  So what do I think of my identity??

Be as intentional to dress in character (love, peace, forgiveness, unity) as the clothes you pick out to wear.

He went on to list ways a life that lives and remains In Christ looks like.  Colossians 3:12-17 speak of character of the new man and they sound very much like the Fruits of the Spirit.  The past couple of weeks this has been on my heart and mind a lot.  I haven’t seen much fruit in my life lately.  I try, but I can only do it for so long.  That’s my mistake!  “I” am trying.  I have to allow the Holy Spirit to fill me with them because they are only achievable by Him.  Another mistake I have been making is focusing on what is bad or wrong in me, rather than concentrate of what I want to be.

“Offensiveness” has been something that has weighed heavy on me lately, especially the last couple of weeks.  I’ve really begun to notice how quickly I am to be offended by such simple words and actions.  I also think about how Christ had every right to be offended, yet he wasn’t.  Now he had righteous anger, but that’s not the same as a spirit of offense.  And I see this same spirit in my son and husband at times, so I am praying that God directs us & teaches us to rebuke it as the spirit of offensiveness kills all fruitfulness.

Another subject that came up was Gratitude.  Another area that I do better in at times and not so much at others.  I am a bit picky on some things, and more than a bit on others.  I have yet to find the ‘perfect pillow’ (at a price I’m willing to pay, lol).  Most nights when we head to bed, the words exiting my mouth often sound like “have I ever told you that my pillow sucks?!”  And I felt totally reprimanded by God one night when I was thinking that.

I have always known the importance of gratitude and have often used it as a measure of where my heart is.  Another words, how hard do I have to try to be grateful? I have been at all stages at different times in my life.  The times where it is actually easier to be grateful than try to find something to complain about.  Times where I know in my heart I have so much to be grateful for, but my mind has to stop and think about what those things are.  All the way to when I feel little to no hope and it’s hard to see anything but all the negativity.

There is a difference of stating a fact and complaining.  And when it comes to my pillow, I was doing A LOT of complaining!  So I made the choice to not complain about it anymore.  If I compared my pillow to all of the pillows in the world, it is by far not the worst pillow in the world.  So I am grateful for that.  Let my mind & heart focus on that!

a-grateful-heart-is-a-magnet-for-miraclesI’m thinking about making Sermon Notes a regular feature.  I have thought about doing it many times, but just never have.  So we will see.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

