G.F. Ranch

The beginning of His vision

Crunch Time

on August 25, 2016

So happy Hubby comes home today!!!  Although his flight from Miami to Dallas has already been delayed and that could possibly delay him coming home, but at least he is coming home! So Bug & myself have spent much of yesterday and today cleaning.  I just got a text from Hubby he is finally boarding the plane, that was supposed to depart an hour ago. Better late than never!

Yesterday I had to take care of 3 loads of laundry that had been sitting in the clothes basket.  I would put a load back in the dryer to get the wrinkles out and fold and put away.  I tried to ignore the wasteful thoughts (as wasting electricity by running it in the dryer again) and just focus on getting it taken care of.

I like the house to be in good order when Hubby gets home. I know he needs a few days to decompress  and I want him to be able to relax.  It’s hard when your spouse is gone for long periods of time.  On them and on the family still at home.  It’s like everyone has to live 2 totally different lives and the first few days of being back together can be difficult.  For example, Hubby just finished working 5 straight weeks.  7 days a week, 12-14 hour days.  He needs to decompress and rest: physically and mentally.  Whereas we are excited to share with him happenings and be a family again.  Sometimes it’s hard to hold off a couple of days.  We’ve already waited 37 days.

There are some time periods when it’s worse than others.  And sometimes by trying to not focus on the negative, I instead to tend to.  And that can lead to bitterness, emptiness and hopelessness.  When I get to that place, I know I am not in a good place with God because Jesus IS hope, in all times!  Thankfully I’m not there at this time.  But I was there not to long ago.

When on the phone with Hubby when he called from Miami, I told him I want to show him dining room table plans.  It did my heart good to hear him reply in an agreeing tone.  I want a farmhouse style table made from real wood.  Made by us!  I LOVE building things with my Hubby!  (Just the thought of it invokes romantic feelings…real warm & fuzzy!)

So these are the tables I have it narrowed down to and will let Hubby pick which one.  And I love the ideas of benches! Although I’m sure Hubby will still want chairs at the ends.  I’m okay with that too.  What I haven’t told him is all the other furniture I want us to build.  Hehehe!  Although it will take time, so one piece at a time.  With the focus being in the living room/dining room area to start with.  And the walls need to be painted, as well as the fireplace.  I’ve said that a million times already and Hubby just nods.  But I think I finally found the style I want in the house.  Definitely farmhouse.  So S2C was the perfect site to find.  By the way, all of these table plans I found there!

Well, I need to clean up the garage still.  Bug & I have had a very productive day, but it’s not over.  I’m letting him take a break.  He has a new love for watching I Love Lucy!  He is finding the older shows, even if in B&W are, as he says, HILARIOUS!!!

 

Leave a Reply

