G.F. Ranch

The beginning of His vision

I’m SAW Excited!

on August 20, 2016

HAHAHA!  I crack myself up!  But I found a new saw that I told Hubby ‘we NEED!’  So glad he loves and wants it too!  He always brags to others that I LOVE power tools!  It’s one of the many things he loves about me. But thanks to the gals at S2C, I learned about this amazing 12 inch SLIDING miter saw by Ryobi.  They may have been out for a while, but the concept is new and exciting to me!

0e97b4d8-4380-4fe7-a2cc-84e91b342c61_400

Isn’t she just beautiful!!!  See, I didn’t pay attention to how Hubby changed the saw blade on the table saw. And the blade on it is meant for thinner pieces of wood.  And our miter saw isn’t big enough to handle 2×10 or larger. And I have a few projects that I need to cut 2×10’s and 2×12’s.  Have I mentioned I am impatient and don’t like waiting.  Not to mention hubby is on a 4-week work schedule now AND working an extra week overtime.  So even though I have a lot of boards at home awaiting to be cut, I cheated a little and bought another board and just had them cut it Lowe’s.

Do you remember in one of my last post that I mentioned I was opinionated?  That just popped in my head because I started to recall some of the thoughts going through my head while the guy was cutting my wood.   Not bad things and the guy was super helpful and nice.  I appreciated his service.  My cuts didn’t need to be perfect, so I kept my mouth shut, but he marked all the cuts straight out.  I needed 14″ boards and there were 6 cuts.  When you need to be true to measurement, you need to measure out after each cut.  You lose wood from the kurf (what the blade cuts away).  And that measurement can vary between types of blades as well. even at 1/8th of an inch kurf, by the 6th cut, the board can be down to 13 1/4″ rather than 14″.

My other thought was ‘the cut won’t splinter as badly if you slow down the cut’.  Again I didn’t say anything because I have to get after myself about the same thing.  lol.  Between that and a sharp blade (which I’m sure he has no control over), you will get a much smoother cut.

Anyhow, I just wanted to share this awesome tool that is on my Christmas list and share a couple of tips with you!

Leave a Reply

