G.F. Ranch

The beginning of His vision

A Gander with No Name

on January 12, 2016

It is not uncommon to make resolutions at the New Year.  Many make them due to tradition, would like to think most people actually hope to complete them, yet many are broken.  I did make a resolution, but not for those reasons.  Think it was more for the sanity of Hubby.  I know you are curious about my resolution, but let me tell you a little story first.

This past November, my friend and I set up a spot at the flea market in Buffalo Gap.  Since she had chickens and rabbits for sale, as well as giving pony rides, we were set up in the ‘animal’ section. The weather was not very delightful so there were not a lot of customers. It gave me an opportunity to meet and chat with some of the other vendors.  One of the gentlemen I spoke with raised and sold potbelly pigs.  I shared the information later that evening with Hubby about why they are good to raise income.

The next day more vendors set up and there were a few more cutovers as well.  One of the vendors that had set up a few spots down from us had a variety of birds, chickens, geese, etc.  Never in my life have I ever been interested in geese.  Until that day.  It began by a few quick glances, but by later in the day I realized I was staring at them.  Just at the one set that I later found out were American Buff Geese.  They are a plain color, but I still can’t put my finger on what it is about them that has me so captivated.

SONY DSC

So I just ‘out of curiosity’ inquire about them.  I find out they are a rare breed; as well as a few other facts and their price.  She preferred to only sell them in a set of 2 geese & a gander.  When I asked my friend if I should get them, her response was “I would”.  Oh, that didn’t help me in my weakened state of excitement.  They are just beautiful and unusual.  They are one of the very few breeds that actually originated in the United States.

Yes, I bought them.  So later that evening I called Hubby.  We were having a normal conversation when it turned a little like this:

Momma:  So, if I did something you probably wouldn’t like, would you want to know sooner or later?

Hubby: (In a quick & completely different tone) Sooner.

Momma:  I’m sorry, what did you say?

Hubby:  Sooner

Momma:  Well, at the flea marker today….

Hubby:  You bought pigs didn’t you?

Momma:  No, I didn’t!  I bought geese.

Hubby:  Oh, okay.

Did he just say okay?  I guess the geese were a much better choice than pigs and made it easier to accept.

And if you read the other post about Gypsy, then you know this wasn’t a first for me to do. Bet it makes more sense how my resolution is truly more for Hubby’s sanity than for me.

My resolution is to not accept, buy or bring home any animals this year without Hubby’s knowledge and permission.

I’ve already been tested, and passed this month.  I did not come home with the Nigerian dwarf goats or the friendly & adorable miniature donkey that wanted to come home with me.  It wasn’t too difficult, so maybe, just maybe, I can make it through the next 11 1/2 months.

Unfortunately, we lost one of the girls a couple weeks ago.  The woman I bought them from had told me their names.  I am bad with names and remembered I didn’t like them, so I don’t even remember what they were.  The geese have gotten settled into their new pen and home.  The gander has really warmed up to me and would even say he likes me.  He starts honking when he hears my voice and will come to me.  This past week he even lets me pet him.  We’re bonding!  Naming animals has never been one of my strong-suits. But they both need a name.

SONY DSC

Do you know how hard it is to try taking a photo and petting a gander at the same time?

 

 

Our youngest pup Faith likes to sneak into the pen and eat the bread we put down for the geese.

 

So, if you have any suggestions for names, I would love to hear them!  Also, would love to hear the whats & whys of your resolutions!

 

 

One response to “A Gander with No Name

  1. […] by updating on you on a happy subject!  Geese!!!!  I can’t tell you how much I love our Buff American Geese!!! The love affair just continues to grow, leaps and bounds.  They adore Hubby & I, but still […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

