G.F. Ranch

The beginning of His vision

Cheesy Cauliflower Soup

on January 7, 2016

I just made a couple of no sew beanies for my great-niece’s birthday presents and the fabric adhesive I used has given me a heck of a headache!  So to take my mind off of it, I decided to do another blog post.  That is if I can keep focused.  If not, I’ll go play a game and come back in a little while.

A couple years ago I found The Pioneer Woman.  I like her!  She’s simple, funny and I can just relate to her. I would also love to have her kitchens and cookware! Although I’m sure much of what you see was set up as props for filming, I have heard many complain it makes her seem unreal.  Why do we feel the need to find negativity to complain about????

Matter of fact I had recently purchased a couple items from her new line.  I LOVE my measuring cups!!!!  The only thing that would have made them better was if I could have gotten them in turquoise rather than red.  But I still love them! I also received a box of kitchen gadgets from Bug & Hubby for Christmas.  It was a very sweet surprise! And a few of the items were from her line too.  They know me so well!

k2-_98f3af0e-29a0-4fe1-9758-f98b74d01475-v2

 

The next piece I want is her 7 quart dutch oven!  I think it’s adorable how she includes 2 knobs for her lids.  A plain boring one and an adorable butterfly one.  The pretty one would definitely be on my lid!

 

Our second soup we made during our fast was her recipe for Cheesy Cauliflower Soup.  Sadly we had to skip step one!  Everything taste better with bacon….okay, almost everything.  But I followed the rest of the recipe.  I also used my immersion blender and blended it 2/3 the way as she suggested.  However, neither Bug or I liked the texture of the soup.  We ate it, enjoyed the flavor but choked down the texture.

After it had cooled most of the way, I put it in the blender (in batches.  Heed her warning about not putting too much in at a time.  My last batch had a hair too much and it spit out the corners.) to get it smooth.  Much better!!!  Even Bug liked it way better today too.  I put a small amount back in the fridge for leftovers and put 3 quart sized bags in the freezer.  Along with 3 bags of the 7 Can Soup as well.  I really love cooking big and having some to freeze so I don’t have to cook to eat it later.

Really not sure if I would make it again though.  Maybe with some sausage or bacon in it, just maybe Hubby might like it.  Will find out in 3 weeks!

FYI…I made it through the post without running off, but my head still feels lousy.  Thinking a big glass of water and head to bed.

 

Leave a Reply

