G.F. Ranch

The beginning of His vision

Meet Gypsy & Lilly

on January 5, 2016

A bit over a year ago, Bug and I were on our way to a living history exhibit a short ways away when my realtor called.  She said she had a friend looking to rehome their horse and she thought of us.  Hubby was offshore so I felt it necessary to make a rash judgement call.  I knew we were looking to get horses, so why not???  Let me go on record now as saying there is NO SUCH THING AS A FREE HORSE!!!!!!!

Later that evening on our way home, Hubby calls.  So I pull over and we chat.  After a few minutes I quickly blurt out “we have a horse”!  He says “what?”.  So I repeat, “can we have a horse?”.  He says,”oh, I thought you said we have a horse”.  And I am sure he could hear my sweet & innocent smile on my face when I said “I did”.

Do you see what my Hubby puts up with.  (No, that was not the first and far from the last incident like that).  Thank God he is a very patient and forgiving man!  And thankfully he was looking forward to getting a horse too.  But in his mind, the horse would come after the barn was finished.  and no work had even been started in the barn at this part.

IMG_9296

We were aware she only had one eye, but to make a long story short, she needed surgery to properly fix the missing eye which was far from cheap.  Again, no such thing as a free horse.But she was such a sweet Appaloosa girl and was happy to get her feeling better.

Gypsy is a smaller horse, where as Hubby is a bigger man standing at 6’4″.  So I was keeping an eye out for a horse for him.  This time I contacted him prior to saying yes to Lilly.  Lilly is a beautiful Paint.  In the summer her hair lightens in a way that she almost appears  brindle. Just gorgeous!!!

IMG_3200

 

One response to “Meet Gypsy & Lilly

  1. […] if you read the other post about Gypsy, then you know this wasn’t a first for me to do. Bet it makes more sense how my resolution is […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

